Got back on the road today, and 2weeks off and thankfully back on track and loved it!
Now looking for a new bike and trying to get it through the cycle to work scheme...
This is my road to completing my first triathlon before my 30th birthday. Follow and support me through my transition from couch potato to triathlon hero. Trust me there will be ups and downs and who knows my journey may help you should you decide to do something similar.
Got back on the road today, and 2weeks off and thankfully back on track and loved it!
Now looking for a new bike and trying to get it through the cycle to work scheme...
How do, was spent a beautiful week in St Ives, Cornwall. Managed a couple of runs on the beach (very hard work), before cutting the hols short to run at the Chester Zoo fun run. My first officialish run. 3k in 28minutes 6seconds, got a medal and everything lol. Feeling really fired up to carry on now for a 10j challenge. Anyway here are some picks of the beach ;-) fired
I'm still running just keep forgetting to post here! It's not long now till my first 'official run. A week Saturday I shall be running at Chester Zoo for the Rhinos! Just 5k but a mile stone all the same.
Since completing the couch to 5k program from the NHS, I've been mixing up between the new 5k+ plans (stepping stone, speed and stamina) and running with Laura, who's running the couch plans.
We had a fantastic run the other day in Barmouth along the front. Must admit it was weird running on flat for a change, but the view and air were fantastic!
Today was a good run too. I took Isaac out while mummy and Tempi stayed in (mummy not too well). Clocked up 4.36miles which I'm happy about.
I am amazed that I'm enjoying running so much. I never thought I would. As for the biking, got my eyes on a cheap road bike.
Off to Cornwall for a weeks break on Friday with Luke (the reason behind this blog), the family and some friends. Looking forward to some runs and bike rides, just hope the weather holds out.
Sorry for the long blog, be back sooner and shorter hopefully.. ;-)
Hope your still running.
Oh and I'm down to 14.6 now, and happy days!
Well I have completed it! Couch to 5k can kiss my hairy arse. Such an unbelievable feeling, even if it did take longer than the 9weeks set out.
Feel like I've hit a massive mile stone and now its only upwards and onwards! I start 5k+ on Friday and introduce the bike to my weekly training. I honestly can't wait!
Found it harder today, not sure if it was the heat or the fact I've been a little naughty diet wise on my hols but found it hard to push myself.
Didn't do as well as last run but still ran for the full 30minutes so that's something to hold onto.
Have the say the Olympics have been inspirational, expecially the Brownlee brothers, what a triathlon, just fantastic. My goal is Rio and moon walking over the finish line,lol.
Managed my first 30minute run today. Slow start with a 13minute mile, knocked 2 minutes off for the 2nd and another for the 3rd.
I owe so much to the NHS couch to 5k plan not to mention the support from my wife and kids. Feeling great!
Love my son so much, keeps pushing me out and on as the pictures show......
Today was my last day of training on week 8, its not been easy getting out at the moment due to work. Have been trying to get out before but seeing as I leave the house at 6.15 and get back at 21.40ish its not been easy. Throw in sleepless night provided by the kids and you really don't want to get up at 5 for a run!
Had support today, love them all and after watching the beginning and end (missed the middle dye to run) of the women's Olympic triathlon, I'm inspired to do more!
Anyway, week 8 is done and its onto week 9. I've 13 days off work so after my three runs I'll be getting the old bike out............exciting yet nervous times :-)
I know its Britain and all but come on! Since starting back I've been lucky, the rain has held off till I got back, today not so lucky....
It wasn't all that bad, started my 5 minute warm up and about half way through it started. Needless to say when we got back we were both wet through. Kids were grand, all tucked up in their pushchairs with rain cover. So cosy infact they both fell asleep.
2 days off now, got 3 night shift to do so we'll be running again on Sunday.
Need some more pics on here to liven it up. Oh and weighed in yesterday at 14st 11lbs. Happy to still be under 15st!
God love her she's done it again. We only took Isaac with us this time and I kept circling back for Laura but I'm so proud of her for joining me.
Truthfully I think its helping me too, didn't think Is enjoy running with someone but the fact I've got her with me spurs me on in some kind of fashion.
Today's run was 5minutes warm up with 25minute run and 5 minute warm down. Feeling great and feel like I'm getting back on track. A little disheartening not to see why usual way points, but thanks to Endmondo I could see I still covered over 3miles in 35minutes. Happy days!
Today was a great fun. Not for distance or speed but for the simple fact I was not alone. Today I was not only joined by my son and personal trainer Isaac, I was was also joined by the new up and coming trainer, my daughter, Temperance.
On top of this I was not running alone! Somehow I managed to convince my already overly supportive wife, Laura, to join me. She enjoyed the run but says she's feeling it now.
Hopefully all will join me again on Tuesday ;-)
Been again today, took my personal trainer again. He enjoyed it more than I did I think. But still I did enjoy myself, little bit of rain not quite as far, and not the best of time but still I got out there
This whole family thing is shattering and time consuming. The last two/three weeks I haven't had the energy or time to go running. Two kids will do that to you!
So went out today, ran week 6 day 1, body felt great but my legs didn't agree. Work tomorrow, run again Thursday. Need to get back to it
Went for a run on Saturday after feeling guilty for not going and it felt fantastic. Best fun I've had on a run. No idea why but it was just great and felt brilliant after, all ready for work yesterday.
Today had to push myself for day2 of week 6. But hit a massive mile stone as far as I'm concerned. 3 miles. Great feeling to hit it. Next run is for 23 minutes which will be Thursday. Bit apprehensive but excited!
How do, not been on for a while and truthfully I've not been on a run for a while either.
I managed the 20 minutes run but that was 2 weeks ago now. I've not been since because following the arrival of little Temperence I've just been too exhausted.
I have had a lovely 4 weeks off from work and am sadley going back on Sunday. Gonna miss being with my family everyday.
Anyway wanted to show you the new addition and the scenic area that I'm lucky enough to run in.
Oh and I will get back to it!
Just been put for a run and felt good doing it, it consisted of 5minute warm up, 8minute run, 5minute walk, 8minute run and 5 minute warm down. Managed to push myself on the last 60seconds of the last run and felt really proud for it.
Also clocked my fastest mile at 11miutes 16. Might not sound great to pros but to me, well I'm chuffed to say the least!
2 days off now before the dreaded 20minute run. My sister is doing hers tomorrow so can't wait to hear from her.
Bye for now!
As suspected ans feared I have got up, but thankfully not as much as I thought it would be.
Today's weight : 15st 2.6lbs do a gain on 1.8lbs
Long lost measurements:
Waist 105cm
Chest 105cm
Neck 38cm
Calves 41cm
Thighs 62cm
All in all I'm happy :-)
Great run today. Day 1 of week 5, reaaly felt good during it though I have to admit I am a bit apprehensive about day 3. Today was 5min warm up, 5min run, 3min walk, 5 min run, 3 min walk 5 min run, 5min warm down. Day 3 is 5 min warm up, 20 min run, 5 min warm down. Seems a massive step up. Still got day 2 to do first. Wish me luck!
The last week following the arrival of Temperance (my daughter) last monday, sleep has been a scarce thing. Because of this I've been a bit low of mood and needed a boost from time to time. Now instead of being sensible about this I've just lived on chocolate to try and lift me. Never good because 1) it doesn't work! You just end up feeling fatter; and 2) you gain weight, which come weigh in (tomorrow) you feel worse.
So plan of action: weigh in tomorrow with a clean sheet and line drawn under the past week (fitness wise) and start a diet either weight watchers or slimming world which I will look into tonight.
So safe to say I'm not looking forward to weigh in tomorrow (am I ever!) Will have a decision about diet plan too :-)
I went for my gait test and it turns out I land on the outer aspect of my heel then role my foot. The video didn't make my ankles look to healthy!
So new £95 running shoes later and I should be back on track. First run today and boy did my calves feel it. 3 runs at week 4 down but I'm thinking best do 1 maybe 2 more before week 5.
I need to measure myself but I've lost 3lbs this week which is a massive bonus ontop if everything else that's been going on :-) so I'm now 15st 0.8lbs
We've had a new addition to the family, Temperance Esmee Everall, a little girl born on Monday. This means however that due to Daddy duties I've not been running since Sunday :-( but who can complain I have a beautiful family.
On another note tomorrow before picking my son up from nursery I'm going for a gait assessment and hopefully some new trainers, good times.
Weigh in this morning was fantastic! Lost a whole 0.06lbs woohoo. Not measured myself though so don't know if those have shrunk.
As for the running I have managed week 4 of the NHS couch to 5k. Feel a real improvement even if I am only running 16minutes :-)
Yestersdays weigh in was not a happy one, another pound on. Got to try harder! And I will.
As for my run with my sister and her wife, went really well. All a bit sore after but after a good meal and a few laughs all is forgotten. Two days in work now so next run on Sunday, looking forward.
Been off the running for a little while as I've had my hands full with Isaac who's now 2. His mummy hasn't been well and had a little stay in hospital because of his future brother or sister. All sorted now though, thankfully, so went for my first run in just over a week last night and thought it better to go for week 2 from the NHS training. Glad to say it went better than I thought, feel great today. Even took Isaac swimming. Another run tomorrow then running with Nayera (big sis who's doing the 5k with me) on Thursday. Quite excited! night
Not been too well past few days so haven't been able to run. Had a great but exhausting day at Chester Zoo for my little ones 2nd birthday. So back to the running tomorrow, should I do stage 2 once more or move on to stage 3? See how I feel tomorrow. Wish me luck........
Not best please this morning. Weighed in and I'm 15st 3.2lbs so I've gone up in the world. Not great. But I have lost cms......
Back at work today, porridge for breakfast. Day 2 off running and strangely enough I'm actually looking forward to my run tomorrow. I never thought it would happen where I enjoyed running and wanted to do it again. Hope it holds up.......